Beginner question: How to specify time-varying actuator torques?

Discussion in 'Simulation' started by Chris Richards, Jun 7, 2016.

1. Dear Forum,
    I am very new to MuJoCo and have read much of the documentation, but have no experience simulating in this platform. I have a naive question (and a follow-up):

Is it possible to specify an arbitrary predefined actuator torque waveform (instead of a constant torque value)? Where would this waveform be specified - in the XML file? Or would a .txt file be called somewhere in the C code or XML?

To help me understand, are there any examples/samples available that include non-zero actuator torques? All of the samples I've seen so far are passive as far as I can tell.

Thanks for your time,
    Chris

2. Emo Todorov

Emo Todorov Administrator Staff Member

This is done programmatically. See example below. If you don't have actuators in your model and want to specify applied torques directly, set the field d->qfrc_applied instead of d->ctrl. As in all other examples, m and d are of type mjModel* and mjData* respectively.

// generate sinusoidal control waveform
    void setcontrol(mjtNum time, mjtNum* ctrl, int nu)
    {
    for( int i=0; i<nu; i++ )
    ctrl = mju_sin(time);
    }

// simulation loop
    {
    // set control vector
    setcontrol(d->time, d->ctrl, m->nu);

// advance simulation state with specified controls
    mj_step(m, d);
    }

3. Fantastic, that makes sense to me, thanks for the quick reply! I now see that the documentation lists the built-in math functions...

But, is it also possible to substitute the mju_sin(time) function for an arbitrary waveform "wav" (see below) sampled at discrete time intervals - i.e. to load some data from a .txt file into an array that is indexed as the simulation steps forward?

e.g.
    // following some kind of declaration of wav as an array of appropriate size...
    wav = "data loaded from file...";
    ctrl = wav;